Syrian Culture

References

The primary author of this profile was Nina Evason (2016).

The Cultural Atlas would like to sincerely thank the Syrian Australian Association of Queensland for their assistance and support in compiling this information.

 

  • Abudabbeh, N. (2005). Arab Families: An Overview. In N. Garcia-Preto, J. Giordano, & M. McGoldrick (Eds.), Ethnicity and Family Therapy. New York: Guilford Publications. Retrieved from http://isites.harvard.edu/fs/docs/icb.topic545407.files/Abudabbeh.pdf
  • Advameg. (n.d.). Syria. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Sa-Th/Syria.html
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+) [Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA
  • Bureau of , Human Rights and Labor. (2015). International Religious Freedom Report for 2015. Retrieved from https://www.state.gov/j/drl/rls/irf/religiousfreedom/index.htm#wrapper
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Syria. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/sy.html
  • Country Reports. (n.d.). Syria Facts and Culture. Retrieved from http://www.countryreports.org/country/Syria.htm
  • Culture Crossing Guide. (2014). Syria. Retrieved from http://guide.culturecrossing.net/basics_business_student.php?id=199
  • Davis, R., & Alchukr, R. (2014). Refugees from Syria. Retrieved from http://www.culturalorientation.net/library/publications/refugees-from-syria
  • Department of Home Affairs. (2018). Syria-born Community Information Summary. Retrieved from https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/mca/files/2016-cis-syria.PDF 
  • Department of Immigration and Border Protection. (2017). Country profile - Syria. Retrieved from https://www.border.gov.au/about/reports-publications/research-statistics/statistics/live-in-australia/country-profiles/syria 
  • Department of Immigration and Citizenship. (2015). Community Information Summary: Syria-born. Retrieved from https://www.dss.gov.au/sites/default/files/documents/02_2014/syria.pdf.
  • Department of Social Services. (2017). Refugee Settlement Media Hub. Retrieved from https://www.dss.gov.au/settlement-and--affairs/programs-policy/syrian-and-iraqi-refugee-crisis/refugee-settlement-media-hub
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: Wiley & Sons.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). Syria. Retrieved from https://geert-hofstede.com/syria.html
  • Global Affairs Canada. (2014). Cultural Information - Syria. Retrieved from https://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/country_insights-apercus_pays/ci-ic_sy.aspx?lang=eng
  • Hamidé, A. R., Hourani, A. H., Irvine, V. E., Ochsenwald, W. L., Salibi, K. S., & Scullard, H. H. (2016). Syria. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/place/Syria
  • Khalidi, S., McIlroy, F., & Neumayer, H. (2012). The Cultural Dictionary and Directory. Canberra: Migrant and Refugee Settlement Services of the ACT Inc.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • McGoldrick, M., Giordano, J., & Pearce, J. K. (1996). Ethnicity And Family Therapy. New York: Guilford Press.
  • Minority Rights Group International. (n.d.). Syria - Alawis. Retrieved from http://minorityrights.org/minorities/alawis/
  • Health Policy Unit. (n.d.). ACT Health Community Profile: Syria. Retrieved from http://www.health.act.gov.au/sites/default/files//Syria.pdf
  • Museum Victoria Australia. (n.d.). History of immigration from Syria. Retrieved from https://museumsvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=61&cat=NONE&cid=0 
  • Transparency International. (2018). Corruption Perceptions Index 2017. Retrieved from https://www.transparency.org/news/feature/corruption_perceptions_index_2017
  • United Kingdom Government. (2006). A Guide to Names and Naming Practices. Retrieved from https://www.fbiic.gov/public/2008/nov/Naming_practice_guide_UK_2006.pdf

Want this profile as a PDF?

Get a downloadable, printable version that you can read later.

BUY NOW

A unified, searchable interface answering your questions on the world’s cultures and religions

Sign up for free