Singaporean Culture

References

The primary author of this profile was the Cultural Atlas Editors (2015), with the Naming section authored by Nina Evason (2021).

 

  • Advameg. (n.d.). Singapore. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Sa-Th/Singapore.html.
  • Asiaone. (2015). Changing family structures in Singapore present challenges: Tan Chuan-Jin. Retrieved from http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/changing-family-structures-singapore-present-challenges-tan-chuan-jin.
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+) [Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA.
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Singapore. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/sn.html.
  • COMMISCEO Global. (2016). Singapore Guide. Retrieved from http://www.commisceo-global.com/country-guides/singapore-guide.
  • Davidson, L. (2019). Naming Conventions on the Malay Peninsula. Retrieved from https://sayari.com/blog/naming-conventions-malay-peninsula/
  • Department of Home Affairs. (2019). Singapore-born: Community Information Summary. Retrieved from https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/mca/files/2016-cis-singapore.PDF
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: Wiley & Sons.
  • eDiplomat. (2016). Singapore. Retrieved from http://www.ediplomat.com/np/cultural_etiquette/ce_sg.htm.
  • Fenn, M. (2014). Singapore’s Foreigner Problem. Retrieved from http://thediplomat.com/2014/02/singapores-foreigner-problem/.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). Singapore. Retrieved from http://geert-hofstede.com/singapore.html.
  • Global Affairs Canada. (2014). Cultural Information - Singapore. Retrieved from http://www.intercultures.ca/cil-cai/ci-ic-eng.asp?iso=sg.
  • InterNations. (n.d.). Local Customs and Culture in Singapore. Retrieved from https://www.internations.org/singapore-/guide/16085-culture-shopping-recreation/local-customs-and-culture-in-singapore-16077
  • IOR. (n.d.). Singapore. Retrieved from http://www.iorworld.com/singapore--pages-482.php.
  • Khalidi, S., McIlroy, F., & Neumayer, H. (2012). The Cultural Dictionary and Directory. Canberra: Migrant and Refugee Settlement Services of the ACT Inc.
  • Lee, C. L. (2011). Ethnography of Singapore Chinese Names: , Religion, and Representation. Lodz Papers in Pragmatics, 7(1): 101-133.
  • Lepoer, B. L. (Ed.). (1989). Singapore: A Country Study Marriage, and Divorce. Washington: Library of Congress. Retrieved from http://countrystudies.us/singapore/.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Maiergrugger, O. (2013). Singapore Expects Less Investment In 2013. Retrieved from http://investvine.com/singapore-expects-less-investment-in-2013/.
  • Mathews, M (2015). The changing Singapore family. Retrieved from http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/the-changing-singapore-family.
  • Museum Victoria Australia. (n.d.). History of immigration from Singapore. Retrieved from https://museumsvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=53&cat=NONE&cid=0.
  • Nation Master. (2014). Population considering religion important. Retrieved from http://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/stats/Religion/Secularism-and-/Population-considering-religion-important.
  • National Geographic. (n.d.) Singapore Cultural Tips. Retrieved from http://travel.nationalgeographic.com.au/travel/city-guides/singapore-cultural-tips/.
  • Oey, K. W. (2021). 36 Auspicious Singaporean Chinese Names For Your Baby. Retrieved from https://sg.theasianparent.com/singapore-chinese-names
  • Population.sg. (n.d.). Composition of Singapore’s Total Population. Retrieved from http://population.sg/resources/population-composition/#.VmT-l98rKi4.
  • Singapore . (2013). Culture and Language. Retrieved from http://www.singaporeexpats.com/about-singapore/culture-and-language.htm.
  • Tan, P. K. W. (2001). Englishised names? Naming patterns amongst ethnic-Chinese Singaporeans. Retrieved from https://courses.nus.edu.sg/course/elltankw/names.pdf
  • Tan, P. K. W. (2006). Towards a Standardization Of Personal Names: The Case of the Chinese in Singapore. Names, 54(4): 291-319.
  • Transparency International. (2018). Corruption Perceptions Index 2017. Retrieved from https://www.transparency.org/news/feature/corruption_perceptions_index_2017
  • United Kingdom Government. (2006). A Guide to Names and Naming Practices. Retrieved from https://www.fbiic.gov/public/2008/nov/Naming_practice_guide_UK_2006.pdf.
  • World Business Culture. (2016). Background to Business in Singapore. Retrieved from http://www.worldbusinessculture.com/Singaporean-Business-Style.html.

Want this profile as a PDF?

Get a downloadable, printable version that you can read later.

BUY NOW

A unified, searchable interface answering your questions on the world’s cultures and religions

Sign up for free