Samoan Culture

References

The primary author of this profile was Chara Scroope (2017).

 

  • Aalto, D. (2015). Names Under the Dome: A Peek into Samoan Culture. Retrieved from http://blog-en.namepedia.org/2015/12/names-under-the-dome-a-peek-into-samoan-culture/ 
  • Advameg. (2017). Samoa. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/No-Sa/Samoa.html
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+) [Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2016). The World Factbook: Samoa. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/resources/the-world-factbook/geos/ws.html 
  • Culture Crossing Guide. (2014). Samoa. Retrieved from http://guide.culturecrossing.net/basics_business_student.php?id=234 
  • Cuded. (2015). 30 Pictures of Samoan Tattoos. Retrieved from http://www.cuded.com/2015/03/30-pictures-of-samoan-tattoos/ 
  • Department of Immigration and Citizenship. (2015). Community Information Summary: Samoa-born. Retrieved from https://www.dss.gov.au/sites/default/files/documents/02_2014/samoa.pdf 
  • Diversicare. (2006). Samoan Culture Profile. Retrieved from http://www.diversicare.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/Samoan.pdf 
  • Foster, S. (2017). Samoa. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/place/Samoa-island-nation-Pacific-Ocean 
  • Gibbons, G. (2010). Fa’a Samoa - the Samoan Way. Retrieved from https://samoanculture.wordpress.com/ 
  • Khalidi, S, F. McIlroy and H. Neumayer. (2012). The Cultural Dictionary and Directory. Canberra: Migrant and Refugee Settlement Services of the ACT Inc.
  • Museum Victoria Australia. (n.d.). History of immigration from Samoa. Retrieved from https://museumvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=51&cat=none&cid=0 
  • One Samoana. (2010). Matai: A Complicated System of Chiefs. Retrieved from http://1samoana.com/matai-a-complicated-system-of-chiefs/ 
  • Pasefika. (2017). Samoan Matai. Retrieved from http://www.pasefika.com/Culture/Article/13/sa/samoan-matai 
  • Pegasus Lodges & Resorts. (2016). 3 Things You Didn’t Know About Samoan Culture. Retrieved from https://www.pegasuslodges.com/our-surf-blog/samoan-culture 
  • Polynesian Cultural Center. (n.d.). Samoa - The Heart of Polynesia. Retrieved from http://www.polynesia.com/polynesian_culture/samoa/index.html#.WVRAqROGMnf 
  • Safari the Globe. (2014). Samoa. Retrieved from http://www.safaritheglobe.com/samoa/
  • Samoan Culture. (2012). Samoan Business. Retrieved from http://nblair1.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/8-samoan-business.html 
  • Stanley, D. (2017). Samoa Facts: The People. Retrieved from http://samoa.southpacific.org/samoa/people.html 
  • State of Queensland (Metro South Health). (2015). Food and Cultural Practices of the Samoan Community in Australia - a Community Resource. Retrieved from https://metrosouth.health.qld.gov.au/sites/default/files/content/heau-cultural-profile-samoan.pdf
Incluude

Be the champion for inclusion in your workplace with exceptional tools and resources.

Inclusion Program

Inclusion logo

Join over 450 organisations already creating a better workplace

Find out more
Download this Cultural Profile

Too busy to read it right now?

You can download this cultural profile in an easy-to-read PDF format that can be printed out and accessed at any time.