Israeli Culture

Dates of Significance

National Dates of Significance

Most traditional Jewish holidays are dates of national significance in Israel.

  • New Year’s Day (1st of January)
  • Yom HaZikaron LaShoah VeLaGevurah – Holocaust Remembrance Day (varies between April and May)
  • Yom Hazikaron – Fallen Soldiers and Victims of Terrorism Remembrance Day (varies between April and May)
  • Victory in Europe Day (9th of May)
  • Yom HaAtzmaut – Independence Day (14th of May)
  • Yom Yerushalayim – Jerusalem Day (11th of June)

Jewish Dates of Significance

In accordance with Jewish views of time, events begin and end at sundown rather than midnight. Jewish holidays follow the Jewish calendar (referred to as the Hebrew calendar), meaning that the date varies every year in the Gregorian calendar (which is referred to as the ‘General calendar’).

  • Purim (varies between February to March)
  • Yom HaAliyah – Aliyah Day (Varies between March to April)
  • Pesach – Passover (Varies between March to April)
  • Shvi’i shel Pesach – Seventh Day of Passover (Varies between April to May)
  • Shavuot (varies between May to June)
  • Rosh Hashanah – Jewish New Year (Varies between September to October)
  • Yom Kippur – Day of Atonement (Varies between September to October)
  • Sukkot – Feast of the Tabernacles (varies between September to October)
  • Simchat Torah (Varies between September to October)
  • Hanukkah (Varies between November and December)

Want this profile as a PDF?

Get a downloadable, printable version that you can read later.


Create your own Cultural Atlas with bookmarks, collections and a unified, searchable interface

Sign up for free