Irish Culture

References

The primary author of this profile was Chara Scroope (2017), with the Naming section authored by Nina Evason (2021).

 

  • Advameg. (n.d.). Ireland. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Ge-It/Ireland.html.
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+)[Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA.
  • Australian Trade and Investment Commission. (2017). Ireland - market profile. Retrieved from https://www.austrade.gov.au/Australian/Export/Export-markets/Countries/Ireland/Doing-business.
  • BBC. (2017). The Troubles. Retrieved from http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/troubles.
  • Burdess, N. (2016). A dozen things you might not know about Irish names. Retrieved from https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/books/a-dozen-things-you-might-not-know-about-irish-names-1.2842791 
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Ireland. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ei.html.
  • Central Statistics Office. (2017). Census 2016 Summary Results - Part 1. Ireland: Government of Ireland. Retrieved from https://static.rasset.ie/documents/news/census-2016-summary-results-part-1-full.pdf
  • Central Statistics Office. (2020). Baby Names of Ireland. Retrieved from https://www.cso.ie/en/interactivezone/visualisationtools/babynamesofireland/ 
  • COMMISCEO Global. (2016). Ireland Guide. Retrieved from http://www.commisceo-global.com/country-guides/ireland-guide.
  • Department of Home Affairs. (2019). Ireland-born: Community Information Summary. Retrieved from https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/mca/files/2016-cis-ireland.PDF
  • Dorney, J. (2012). The Irish War of Independence - a brief overview. Retrieved from http://www.theirishstory.com/2012/09/18/the-irish-war-of-independence-a-brief-overview/#.WcmFkNMjEnd.
  • Dove, M. (2015). What’s in a Name? Irish Naming Conventions. Retrieved from http://www.originsinfo.com.au/origin-blog/what-s-in-a-name-irish-naming-conventions/.
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: Wiley & Sons.
  • Family Search. (2021). Ireland Personal Names. Retrieved from https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Ireland_Personal_Names 
  • Gaelic Matters. (2011). Irish Pub Culture - more than drinking. Retrieved from http://www.gaelicmatters.com/irish-pub-culture.html.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). Ireland. Retrieved from http://geert-hofstede.com/ireland.html.
  • Global Affairs Canada. (2014). Cultural Information - Ireland. Retrieved from https://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/country_insights-apercus_pays/ci-ic_ie.aspx?lang=eng.
  • Grenham, J. (2015). Irish Roots: how our surnames were Englished. Retrieved from https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/heritage/irish-roots-how-our-surnames-were-englished-1.2417178 
  • Hertz, K. (2021). 100 Irish first names and their beautiful meanings. Retrieved from https://www.irishcentral.com/roots/100-irish-language-first-names-meanings 
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Museum Victoria Australia (n.d.). History of immigration from Ireland. Retrieved from https://museumsvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=30&cat=NONE&cid=0.
  • O’Donnaile, A. (2014). Irish Gaelic. Retrieved from http://www.bbc.co.uk/voices/multilingual/irish.shtml.
  • Passport to Trade. (2014). Business Etiquette. Retrieved from http://businessculture.org/northern-europe/ireland/business-etiquette/.
  • ProQuest. (2017). Culture Gram: Ireland. Michigan: ProQuest.
  • Ranelagh, J. O., Boland, F. H., Fanning, R., Edwards, R. W. D., & Kay, S. (2017). Ireland. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/place/Ireland.
  • Reid, R. (2011). Irish in Australia essay. Retrieved from http://www.nma.gov.au/exhibitions/irish_in_australia/irish_in_australia.
  • Semple, P. (2014). Previous generations would be astounded at attitudes to churches in Ireland today. Retrieved from https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/previous-generations-would-be-astounded-at-attitudes-to-churches-in-ireland-today-1.2004480.
  • Sherwood, H. (2016). Faith, hope and secularity: Ireland on the brink of change as church power wanes. Retrieved from https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/feb/17/faith-hope-and-secularity-ireland-on-brink-of-change-as-church-power-wanes.
  • Tenon Tours. (n.d.). Tips on Travel Etiquette in Ireland. Retrieved from https://www.tenontours.com/tips-on-travel-etiquette-in-ireland/.
  • The Emerald Isle. (2016). Irish Culture. Retrieved from http://www.theemeraldisle.org/irish-history/irish-culture.htm.
  • The Irish Times. (2015). Same-sex Marriage Referendum. Retrieved from https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/marriage-referendum.
  • Transparency International. (2018). Corruption Perceptions Index 2017. Retrieved from https://www.transparency.org/news/feature/corruption_perceptions_index_2017
  • WLR. (2019). 100 most Irish surnames revealed. Retrieved from https://www.wlrfm.com/2019/01/02/80532/ 
  • Woulfe, P. (2020). Anglicisation of Irish Surnames. Retrieved from https://www.libraryireland.com/names/anglicisation-irish-surnames.php 

Want this profile as a PDF?

Get a downloadable, printable version that you can read later.

BUY NOW

A unified, searchable interface answering your questions on the world’s cultures and religions

Sign up for free