Indian Culture

References

The primary author of this profile was Chara Scroope (2018).

 

  • A View on Buddhism. (2015). Brief History of Buddhism in India. Retrieved from http://www.viewonbuddhism.org/india.html.
  • Advameg. (n.d.). India. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Ge-It/India.html.
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+) [Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA.
  • Bukstein, J., George, K., & Jenson, R. (2001). Nonverbal Issues. Retrieved from http://academic.depauw.edu/mkfinney_web/teaching/Com227/culturalPortfolios/india/NONVERBALFINAL.htm.
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: India. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/countries/india/
  • Corbett, K. (2014). India: Behaviour, communication and culture. Culturescope, 104, 24-27.
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. (2017). India country brief. Retrieved from https://dfat.gov.au/geo/india/Pages/india-country-brief.aspx
  • Department of Home Affairs. (2019). India-born: Community Information Summary. Retrieved from https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/mca/files/2016-cis-india.PDF
  • Difference Between. (2016). Difference between Indian Culture and Western Culture. Retrieved from http://www.differencebetween.info/difference-between-indian-culture-and-western-culture.
  • Dikshit, K.R., Schwartzberg, J. E., Spear, T. G. P., Srivastava, A. L., Thapar, R., & Wolpert, S. A. (2016). India. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/place/India.
  • Dotson, M. (n.d.). India Culture Guide - Body Language. Retrieved from https://sites.google.com/a/global.t-bird.edu/india-culture-guide/doing-business-in-india/body-language.
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: Wiley & Sons.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). India. Retrieved from https://geert-hofstede.com/india.html.
  • India Celebrating. (2016). Festivals of India. Retrieved from http://www.indiacelebrating.com/festivals/.
  • Hays, J. (2015). Families and Gender Roles in India. Retrieved from http://factsanddetails.com/india/People_and_Life/sub7_3d/entry-4174.html.
  • Hebbar, N. H. (2002). History of Islam in India - Islam in Modern India. Retrieved from http://www.boloji.com/index.cfm?md=Content&sd=Articles&ArticleID=805.
  • Indian Child. (n.d.). Indian Society. Retrieved from http://www.indianchild.com/indian_society.htm.
  • Indian Mirror. (2006). Tribes in India. Retrieved from http://www.indianmirror.com/tribes/tribes-home-map1.html.
  • Isamaj. (2016). Festivals of India. Retrieved from http://www.isamaj.com/indinfo/festivals.htm.
  • Jacobson, D. (2004). Indian Society and Ways of Living. Retrieved from http://asiasociety.org/education/indian-society-and-ways-living.
  • Jain World. (2011). Jainism Enters the Modern Ages. Retrieved from http://www.jainworld.com/book/jainismexplained/ch4.asp.
  • Kawanami, H., Partridge, C., & Woodhead, L. (Eds). (2016). Religions in the Modern World. New York: Routledge.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Madan, T. N. (2018). Caste. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/topic/caste-social-differentiation
  • McLeod, W. H. (2016). Sikhism. https://www.britannica.com/topic/Sikhism.
  • Miller, N. (2015). How to Recover from Offending Someone in India. Retrieved from http://learningindia.in/recover-offending-someone-india/.
  • Museum Victoria Australia. (n.d.). History of immigration from India. Retrieved from https://museumvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=26&cat=NONE&cid=0.
  • Navsarjan. (2009). Who are Dalits?. Retrieved from http://navsarjan.org/navsarjan/dalits/whoaredalits.
  • New World Encyclopedia. (2014). Islam in India. Retrieved from http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Islam_in_India.
  • Patra, H. (2014). List of Important dates in India. Retrieved from http://www.importantindia.com/9997/important-dates-in-india/.
  • Photius. (2003). Modern Transformations. Retrieved from http://www.photius.com/religion/india_modern_transformations.html.
  • ProQuest. (2017). Culture Gram: India. Michigan: ProQuest.
  • Safari the Globe. (2014). India. Retrieved from http://www.safaritheglobe.com/india/
  • Sengupta, S. (2016). The End of Karma: Hope and Fury Among India’s Young. Retrieved from http://www.economist.com/news/books-and-arts/21694984-indias-youth-are-trading--and-karma-free-willand-higher.
  • School of Manners & Common Sense. (2006). Indian Etiquette. Retrieved from http://www.a-to-z-of-manners-and-etiquette.com/indian-etiquette.html.
  • Science Encyclopedia. (n.d.). Jainism - Contemporary Jainism. Retrieved from http://science.jrank.org/pages/9839/Jainism-Contemporary-Jainism.html.
  • Storti, C. (2015). “Communicating Across Cultures with People from India” in J. M. Bennett (ed.) The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications.
  • Transparency International. (2017). Corruption Perceptions Index 2016. Retrieved from http://www.transparency.org/news/feature/corruption_perceptions_index_2016.
  • United Kingdom Government. (2006). A Guide to Names and Naming Practices. Retrieved from https://www.fbiic.gov/public/2008/nov/Naming_practice_guide_UK_2006.pdf.

Be the champion for inclusion in your workplace with exceptional tools and resources

Sign up for free