Hong Kong Culture

References

The primary authors of this profile were the Cultural Atlas Editors (2016).

 

  • Advameg. (n.d.). Hong Kong. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Ge-It/Hong-Kong.html.
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+) [Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA.
  • Baresova, I. and Pikhart, M. (2020). Going by an English Name: The Adoption and Use of English Names by Young Taiwanese Adults. Social Sciences, 9(60): 1-11.
  • Census and Statistics Department. (2016). 2016 Population By-Census – Summary Results Report. Retrieved from https://www.bycensus2016.gov.hk/en/bc-mt.html 
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Hong Kong. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/hk.html.
  • Department of Home Affairs. (2019). Hong Kong-born: Community Information Summary. Retrieved from https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/mca/files/2016-cis-hong-kong.PDF
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: Wiley & Sons.
  • eDiplomat. (2016). Hong Kong. Retrieved from http://www.ediplomat.com/np/cultural_etiquette/ce_hk.htm.
  • Forebears. (2021). Most Common Last Names in Hong Kong. Retrieved from https://forebears.io/hong-kong/surnames 
  • Frampton, A., Wong, C., & Solomon, J. (2012). Cities Without Ground: A Hong Kong Guidebook. USA: Oro Editions.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). Hong Kong. Retrieved from http://geert-hofstede.com/hong-kong.html.
  • Hong Kong . (2016). Understanding Taboos and Superstitions in Hong Kong. Retrieved from http://.hk/467-understanding-taboos-and-superstitions-in-hong-kong.html.
  • Hong Kong Government. (2011). Religion and Custom. In Hong Kong Year Book. Retrieved from http://www.yearbook.gov.hk/2011/en/pdf/E18.pdf.
  • Home Affairs Bureau. (2016). Hong Kong: The Facts - Religion and Custom. Retrieved from http://www.gov.hk/en/about/abouthk/factsheets/docs/religion.pdf.
  • InterNations. (n.d.). Hong Kong Culture: Social Etiquette. Retrieved from https://www.internations.org/hong-kong-/guide/15908-culture-shopping-recreation/hong-kong-culture-social-etiquette-15920.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Marimari. (n.d.). Hong Kong: People. Retrieved from https://www.marimari.com/content/hong_kong/general_info/people/main.html.
  • Museum Victoria Australia. (n.d.). History of immigration from Hong Kong (SAR). Retrieved from https://museumsvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=24&cat=NONE&cid=0.
  • Nation Master. (2014). Hong Kong Religion Stats. Retrieved from http://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/profiles/Hong-Kong/Religion#2014.
  • Transparency International. (2018). Corruption Perceptions Index 2017. Retrieved from https://www.transparency.org/news/feature/corruption_perceptions_index_2017
  • United Kingdom Government. (2006). A Guide to Names and Naming Practices. Retrieved from https://www.fbiic.gov/public/2008/nov/Naming_practice_guide_UK_2006.pdf.
  • Vantid. (2018). Hong Kong Name Culture Explained. Retrieved from https://vatnid.medium.com/hong-kong-name-culture-explained-768a42f1aef6
  • Wei, T. (2015). Naming your kids after one of your family members. Retrieved from https://tingweihsu.wordpress.com/2015/07/27/naming-your-kids-after-one-of-your-family-members/ 
  • Yan, C. (2016). Cultural Customs to Follow in Hong Kong. Retrieved from http://guides.wsj.com/hong-kong/guide-to-hong-kong/cultural-customs/.

Want this profile as a PDF?

Get a downloadable, printable version that you can read later.

BUY NOW

Create your own Cultural Atlas with bookmarks, collections and a unified, searchable interface

Sign up for free