Brazilian Culture

References

The primary author of this profile was Chara Scroope (2018).

 

  • Advameg. (n.d.). Brazil. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Bo-Co/Brazil.html.
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Census 2016, Country of Birth of Person by Sex (SA2+) [Data set]. http://stat.data.abs.gov.au/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=ABS_C16_T06_SA.
  • Australian Trade and Investment Commission. (2016). Market Profile - Brazil. Retrieved from http://www.austrade.gov.au/Australian/Export/Export-markets/Countries/Brazil/Doing-business.
  • Brazil.org. (n.d.). Popular Events in Brazil. Retrieved from http://www.brazil.org.za/popular-events-in-brazil.html.
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2017). The World Factbook: Brazil. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/br.html.
  • COMMISCEO Global. (2016). Brazil Guide. Retrieved from http://www.commisceo-global.com/country-guides/brazil-guide.
  • Dávila, J. (2005). Ethnicity and the Shifting Margins of Brazilian Identity. Diaspora, 14(1), 185-200.
  • De Lourenço, C., McDonnell, J., & Nielson, R. P. (2010). Saudades and Returning Home: Brazilian Women Speak of Here and There. Tempo e Argumento, 2(1), 136-152.
  • Department of Home Affairs. (2019). Brazil-born: Community Information Summary. Retrieved from https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/mca/files/2016-cis-brazil.PDF
  • eDiplomat. (2016). Brazil. Retrieved from http://www.ediplomat.com/np/cultural_etiquette/ce_br.htm.
  • Fonseca, J. (2006). A Brief History of Brazil. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/fodors/top/features/travel/destinations/centralandsouthamerica/brazil/riodejaneiro/fdrs_feat_129_9.html.
  • Fraguas, L. (2014). Brazilians in Australia: a snapshot of Brazilian migration to Victoria. Retrieved from http://abrisa.org.au/wp/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Brazilians_in_Australia_Book.pdf.
  • Gannon, M., & Pillai, R. (2010). The Brazilian Samba. In M. J. Gannon, & R. Pillai (Eds.), Understanding Global Cultures: Metaphorical Journeys Through 29 Nations. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). Brazil. Retrieved from https://geert-hofstede.com/brazil.html.
  • Hurrell, F. (2013). Finding the Spiritist Movement in Brazil. Retrieved from http://riotimesonline.com/brazil-news/rio-travel/finding-the-spiritist-movement-in-brazil/#.
  • Kit, K. (2016). Brazilian Gift Giving Etiquette, Traditions and Culture. Retrieved from http://giftcanyon.com/brazilian-gift-giving/.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Mac Lennan, M. L. F., Polo, E. F., Sutter, M. B., & Tiscoski, G. P. (2015). Brazilianness: a Look at the Multiple Faces of the Brazilian National Identity. Future Studies Research Journal, 7(1), 130-155.
  • Museum Victoria Australia. (n.d.). History of immigration from Brazil. Retrieved from https://museumvictoria.com.au/origins/history.aspx?pid=217&cat=NONE&cid=0.
  • Novais, A. (2013). All About Religions in Brazil. Retrieved from http://thebrazilbusiness.com/article/all-about-religions-in-brazil.
  • Pew Research Center. (2013). Brazil’s Changing Religious Landscape. Retrieved from http://www.pewforum.org/2013/07/18/brazils-changing-religious-landscape/.
  • Poelzl, V. (2008). Cultureshock Brazil: A Survival Guide to Customs and Etiquette. Singapore: Marshall Cavendish Corporation.
  • Porfírio, F. (2019). Nepotism. Retrieved from https://brasilescola.uol.com.br/politica/nepotismo.htm
  • Prandi, R. (2004). Afro-Brazilian Identity and Memory. Diogenes, 201, 35-43.
  • Transparency International. (2017). Corruption Perceptions Index 2016. Retrieved from http://www.transparency.org/news/feature/corruption_perceptions_index_2016.
  • United Kingdom Government. (2006). A Guide to Names and Naming Practices. Retrieved from https://www.fbiic.gov/public/2008/nov/Naming_practice_guide_UK_2006.pdf.
  • Wallenfeldt, J. (2016). Favela: Brazilian Shantytown. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/topic/favela.
  • Woodhead, L. (2016). Christianity. In H. Kawanami, C. Partridge, & L. Woodhead (Eds). Religions in the Modern World. New York: Routledge.
Incluude

Be the champion for inclusion in your workplace with exceptional tools and resources.

Inclusion Program

Inclusion logo

Join over 450 organisations already creating a better workplace

Find out more
Download this Cultural Profile

Too busy to read it right now?

You can download this cultural profile in an easy-to-read PDF format that can be printed out and accessed at any time.