Australian Culture

Dates of Significance

National Holidays

  • New Year’s Day (1st of January)
  • Australia Day* (26th of January)
  • Easter (Varies by year)
  • ANZAC Day (25th of April)
  • Labour Day (Traditionally 1st of May, Varies in each state)
  • Queen’s Birthday (Technically 21st of April, Varies in each state)
  • Christmas Eve (24th of December)
  • Christmas Day (25th of December)
  • Boxing Day (26th of December)
  • New Year’s Day (31st of December)


Regional Holidays

  • Royal Hobart Regatta (Tasmania)
  • Adelaide Cup (South Australia)
  • Canberra Day (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Eight Hour Day (Tasmania)
  • Reconciliation Day (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Western Australia Day (Western Australia)
  • Bank Holiday (New South Wales)
  • Picnic Day (Northern Territory)
  • Royal National Agricultural Show Day/Ekka Holiday (Queensland)
  • AFL Grand Final Day (Victoria)
  • Recreation Day (Tasmania)
  • Melbourne Cup Day (Victoria)


National Observances

  • Mothers’ Day (8th of May)
  • National Sorry Day (26th of May)
  • National Reconciliation Week (27th of May - 3rd of June)
  • NAIDOC* Week (1st week of July)
  • Fathers’ Day (4th of September)
  • Remembrance Day (11th of November)


* Australia Day is referred to as ‘Invasion Day’ or ‘Survival Day’ by many Indigenous people and advocates.

* NAIDOC is an acronym for the National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee

Want this profile as a PDF?

Get a downloadable, printable version that you can read later.


Be the champion for inclusion in your workplace with exceptional tools and resources

Sign up for free